Can you return out of state cans in Oregon?
Yes. The container must be accepted, and the Oregon refund value must be paid to the customer even if the store did not charge a deposit. A store where I shop has reverse vending machines. The store will only cash out the slips on the same day the cans and bottles are deposited into the machine.
Can you return cans from other states?
Can I take my bottles and cans to a state with a bottle bill and get the refund there? … Containers bought in another state cannot be returned for a refund because no deposit was originally paid in the state giving the refund. It is illegal to try to collect a refund on a bottle or can purchased in another state.
Does Oregon accept crushed cans?
Generally, yes. Cans that are crushed, dented or damaged should be accepted. Only if the brand cannot be identified or the Oregon refund value can’t be seen will containers be rejected.
How many bags of cans can you return in Oregon?
Return up to 350 empty containers per person, per day in a clean, friendly, and staffed Redemption Centers using our self-serve bottle and can return machines.
Is Oregon accepting bottle returns?
Oregon’s Bottle Bill encourages recycling by giving you 10 cents for every bottle or can you return. … That means the grocery store locations in those counties must start taking your bottle and cans again. They could have limited hours, but they should be back open.
Do you have to live in Oregon to recycle cans?
We can Verify: While it isn’t legal, there’s currently no punishment in state law for recycling cans outside of Oregon.
Is it OK to crush cans for recycling?
Is it better to crush cans for recycling? No it is not. Soft drink cans and beer cans are sent back to the respective companies for recycling. If cans are crushed it takes longer to identify and sort the cans, so you’ll be waiting longer to be paid.
Why you should not crush aluminum cans?
But you shouldn’t crush cans in a single-stream system. That’s because it’s harder for the electrical current which helps separate out aluminum cans at municipal recycling facilities to identify them as cans when they’re crushed. … Plastic bottles, on the other hand, are best recycled crushed—and with the caps on.
Does Oregon pay for aluminum cans?
Can you return bottles and cans bought before April 1 for 10 cents? Yes. After April 1, all eligible containers will be returned for 10 cents in Oregon, regardless of the amount printed on the can.
Where can I return my soda cans?
If you can’t find a recycling center in a convenient location, go to www2.calrecycle.ca.gov/BevContainer/InStoreRedemption to search for retailers that redeem in-store. More than 4,000 grocery stores and other retailers statewide have pledged to accept empty beverage containers and provide deposit refunds.
How much is an aluminum can Worth in Oregon?
Payouts by State for Aluminum Cans
|California||5 cents (less than 24 ounces); 10 cents (24 ounces or more)|
|New York||5 cents|
|Vermont||15 cents (wine/liquor); 5 cents all others|